Responding to Connectivism…

Standard

https://spring12-bce-01.wikispaces.com/Group+A+6-A-1

After looking at the other group’s wiki, I would say that I agree with them that Connectivisim is a positive thing to teach in our classrooms. I took a class this past summer that used Edmodo, and I really learned a lot about it. I had to give a presentation on it with a sample unit, and the other students in my class responded well. Students are able to utilize technology through this resource, and at the same time, they’re learning new material.

Connectivism helps to ensure that students become lifelong learners by facilitating the building of active connections, utilizing intelligent social networking, and encouraging student-generated curricula.

I think the quote the group used above is a good one because it is addressing the 21st century skills that our students need today. There is so much technology in our world today that we, as teachers, need to make sure we are teaching our students how to use it appropriately.

2 responses »

  1. Lindsey,

    Thanks for taking a look at our wiki. I’ve heard people mention Edmodo at various times throughout this course. I’ll have to take a look at it, since the comments are always enthusiastic. It is very helpful to have a network for sharing instructional technology tips, since districts tend to expose and train classroom teachers on only a select few applications!

    Natalie

  2. Lindsey,

    I use Edmodo in my classroom. My kids love it and really learn from each other! We frequently have discussions and debates. I especially love the resources a teacher can gain from subscribing to the groups that correspond with your field. I use a lot of what I learn there in my classes.

Leave a Reply

